이, 그, 저

I watched Shinee’s Hello Baby some time last year and I kept hearing the words 이것, 그것, 저것. That was way before I listened to TTMIK’s Level 1 Lesson 7 이, 그, 저. I was a little confused since I wasn’t studying Korean back then.

  • – It means ‘this’. It is used when you’re referring to something that you’re holding or closer to you than the person you’re talking with.

  • – It means ‘that’. You use 그 when you’re talking about something that’s far away from you and is much closer to the person you’re talking to.

  • – It means ‘that’, ‘over there’, ‘that thing/person/item/etc over there’. This is used when the thing/person/item is far away from both you and the person you’re talking with.

I’m Filipino and I live in the Philippines, but I’m not that fluent with Tagalog because I speak a different dialect. It was easier for me to understand 이, 그, 저 because we have words in our dialect which have the same meaning as 이, 그, 저.

이것, 그것, 저것 simply mean this thing, that thing and that thing over there.

Blogging about learning a language is not really my thing. Hahaha! I’ve been blogging since 2006 and most of my posts were about myself or what I did during the day or the week. Most of them were really long unlike the posts I’ve made here. Well, blogging about a language you barely know is quite a challenge. There are times when I don’t know what to talk about or how I’m going to discuss a certain topic. I don’t like to talk much in my posts here since I’m afraid I might say something which is not right and mislead people. I don’t want that. It’ll take a while before I loosen up so excuse my future short posts. XD

요즘은 내 머리가 너무 아파서 죽겠네요. ㅠ ㅠ

Leave a comment