2015 KCC Korean Speech Contest

Read the rest of the entry here: http://meloncreme.net/2015-kcc-korean-speech-contest/

The Korean Cultural Center in the Philippines holds a Korean speech contest every year since 2011. Each year, they give out a free trip to Korea for the grand prize winner of the said contest.

I’ve always wanted to join the speech contest not mainly because I want to try my luck at winning the free trip to Korea, but it’s also because I want to stand on stage and tell my story to the audience. But since my Korean skills were still very 부족해 (lacking) to make a speech, I decided to wait a year or two.

After a couple of years, I finally had the guts and gathered enough courage to join. My friends from Araw Contingent and the Korean people who live in my city encouraged me to. And so I made my speech and submitted my application to join the regionals in Cebu. However, I was not notified on time that I qualified for the Cebu contest. I got a call a day before the competition, around 3 o’clock in the afternoon. I didn’t get to book plane tickets to Cebu and if I went by boat, I would have arrived an hour late. I sent an email to KCC explaining my situation and I’m glad it went well. I had to pay for my airfare but they offered to shoulder my accommodation. And because of this contest, I finally got on my first plane ride after 6 years.

Read the rest of the entry here: http://meloncreme.net/2015-kcc-korean-speech-contest/

Leave a Reply

